Show All Answers
Library cards are available free of charge to all Wise County residents. Minors under the age of 17 may have a card with the approval of a parent or legal guardian. Prospective borrowers must provide proof of address in the form of a valid Texas Driver's License or Texas State government-issued ID. You may apply for a library card online! Simply fill out an adult or child library card application!
We are a fine free library! There are no daily fines.
All books and audiobooks are checked out for 3 weeks. Videos and DVDs are checked out for 1 week.
Books, audiobooks, and nonfiction videos may be renewed when there is no waiting list. You may renew items in person at the Decatur Public Library located at 1700 Highway 51 South, Decatur, Texas 76234, by phone at 940-393-0290, or online.
No. Texas state law does not allow a CDL holder to take a driver's safety course or complete a deferred disposition.
The Texas State Law states that a ticket for "no insurance" can only be dismissed if you can provide proof that you had valid insurance coverage on the same date and time you were given the ticket. Purchasing insurance after the ticket was issued cannot be dismissed.TC 601.1983(a)
In order to be eligible for a compliance dismissal for an expired registration ticket, you must tell the Tax Assessor or Registration office that you did receive a ticket for operating your motor vehicle with an expired registration. You must pay the penalty fee at the time that you renew your registration or you will not be eligible to request a compliance dismissal. You must appear in person or by mail by the due date on the bottom of your ticket. If you choose to appear by mail, you must include the proof of renewed registration, payment of penalty fee, and a $20 administrative fee.
In order to qualify for a compliance dismissal for your expired driver's license you must show proof to the Court, either in person or by mail, that you have renewed your driver's license, and you must pay a $20 administrative fee. If you choose to appear by mail, your envelope must be postmarked on or before the due date on the bottom of the ticket.
State law requires you to present your driver's license upon request by a peace officer. Since you were unable to show your driver's license at the time of the stop, you must provide proof of a valid driver's license to the Court on or before your due date printed on the bottom of your ticket and pay a $10 administrative fee.
You will need to appear in person at 201 E Walnut, or send an email through the "contact us" link, on or before the due date at the bottom of your ticket to notify the Court that you wish to contest your ticket. If sending an email, please make sure to include your ticket number, current mailing address, and a phone number where you may be reached.
Utility bills are due to be paid by or before the 15th of each month. If the 15th falls on a Saturday or Sunday, utility bills will be due on the next business day AFTER the 15th.
We offer drinking water, wastewater, residential yard waste (leaves/limbs) and garbage/recycling utilities
Residential deposits for property renters:
Residential deposits for property owners:
Deposits for businesses (please not: trash/recycle service is NOT available with business service):
*All deposits MUST be paid BEFORE water will be turned on.
Our online account inquiry and payment system allows access 24 hours a day.
The online bill pay offers one time payments or recurring autopay using your debit/credit card.
You will need your account number and customer number/pin to access your online account information. Both numbers are found in the upper right hand corner of your billing statement. If you set up your account for recurring autopay, you will assign a personal password to your account.
Auto Draft payments are available by completing the Bank Draft Authorization Form and including a “void” check for confirmation.
Auto Draft and Auto Bill Pay with credit cards are both drafted the 15th (due date) of each month.
Our drive through located at City Hall is available 24 hours and 7 days a week in order to drop off your payment. Do not deposit cash into the drop box.
Pay your bill in person at City Hall between the hours of 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding recognized holidays.
City Hall is located at 201 E Walnut.
All customers wanting to set up utility service with The City of Decatur must first complete an application for new service and complete a Water Service Agreement in person at the Decatur City Hall.
Applications for new service are accepted in person at City Hall.
Applicants are required to present a lease agreement or closing or tax documents at the time the application is submitted.
You should bring a valid picture identification such as an unexpired drivers license - It must be your ID not someone else’s ID.
A printable version of the application is available on the website that can be printed and completed before your visit to City Hall.
The due date is the same for all customers on the 15th of each month.
Payments are due by the 15th of the month. Accounts not paid in full by the due date will accrue a 10% penalty on the next business day.
If an account is unpaid for 30 days, the account is subject to disconnect. Reconnects are scheduled only after the customer has paid the account in full including the reconnect fees.
A payment made with a bad check, closed account on auto pay or declined auto pay credit cards will be treated the same as a non-payment. A handling fee of $25 may apply and is payable in cash, money order, or cashier's check on all returned checks and non payment auto drafts.
Payment extensions are not available.
All delinquent accounts will be submitted to the law firm of McCreary, Veselsa, Bragg & Allen P C for collection.
Please contact City Hall at 940.393.0200 and we will arrange for your water to be turned off at the City's meter by trained personnel. Please do not attempt to turn off the water yourself.
The City is responsible for repairing City water meters and all pipes leading to the meter from the municipal water supply. Water pipes from the water meter to the building are the responsibility of the property owner.
Please complete a Utility Billing Service Agreement with the updated information and submit to City Hall.
Documentation of changes may be required.
Valid utility accounts are to be held in the name of the responsible party living at the residence. Accounts can not be held in the name of a deceased person.
Final Account requests are not accepted by telephone. In order to discontinue services a Final Account form will need to be completed and signed in person or completed, signed then faxed (940.393.0201) or emailed (firstname.lastname@example.org) to the utility billing office.
All disconnect requests submitted by fax or email must be signed by the primary account holder and include a copy of the primary account holder's driver's license.
Grass, leaves, plants and small cuttings placed in bags. Maximum weight should not exceed 30 pounds per bundle. Dirt and mulch are not accepted.
Limbs are limited to four (4) feet in length or less and not over six (6) inches in diameter.
If you contract trimming or tree removal services, check and see if haul away charges are included in their charges. Make sure you have a plan for disposal when trimming and removing trees from your property.
Tree stumps, roots or shrubs with root balls, dirt, soil pallets, fencing and concrete are not accepted.